MMJ Project Progress

Working on my final project for Multimedia Journalism has been a task and a half. This is the first school class I’ve taken since graduating from Texas State University in December of 2009. To be tasked with coming up with a professional news article with photos, audio interviews, video footage, and an essay is not the hardest task in the world for me. Being graded on how my piece of journalism turns out is new to me though.

I currently have somewhere around 15 to 20 pictures that I’m looking at placing into my report. I took the pictures at the farmer’s market in Tomball, TX just outside of Houston, and the Keller Williams Ironworks Marketplace. There I spoke with a barista Raul Longoria and few entrepreneurs like Faith and Chris Cisneros who run a resale shop there. I got a couple of audio interviews from them and will be editing them into a package to post on SoundCloud soon.

I was also able to do video interviews with Dr. Kareen Smith and Dr. Erica Lindsay about the opening of their pediatrics office. They were able to give me a lot of great information about starting their business and I’ve not yet edited the footage together but it will pair nicely with the final piece.

Overall I feel pretty confident about the whole of the project winding up looking pretty good as long as they work as part of a whole. Separately I don’t feel like they are very strong though.

Leave a comment